What We Stand for

United Academics is the union of full and part-time faculty at the University of Vermont. We are affiliated with American Association of University Professors, AAUP,  American Federation of Teachers, AFT and AFT-Vermont.

We believe that UVM makes a unique contribution to Vermont's system of public higher education and is crucial to Vermont's future.

We seek the best possible environment for teaching, learning and research, and believe that a diverse community of scholars is best served by equal treatment, academic freedom, shared governance, social justice and environmental sustainability.  

We seek fair employment practices for our members through the collective bargaining process. 

We advocate for the rights of the faculty, and, with others, for the rights of UVM employees, students and community members. 

We are committed to the betterment of the University of Vermont, the state of Vermont and our communities local, national and global.

UA Constitution

United Academics' Constitution describes the rules under which we are organized. It defines the overall structure of United Academics, sets the rules for elections, committees and negotiations, and is the final authority on any question of rules and regulations. A PDF copy of the Constitution is available here.

Who We Are

Officers and Staff

President

John Forbes

Theater

John.B.Forbes@uvm.edu

 

Vice President

Julie Roberts

Linguistics

Julie.Roberts@uvm.edu

 

Treasurer

Joe Kudrle

Mathematics

joseph.kudrle@uvm.edu

 

Secretary

Alison Pechenick

Computer Science

Alison.Pechenick@uvm.edu

 

Senior Consultant

Steve Finner

union-consult@finner.info

 

AFT Staff Representative

Cindy Polinsky

Cindyp@upvaft.org

 

UA Administrative Assistant

Patti Gannon

pgannon@unitedacademics.org

 

Delegates

 

AGRICULTURE & LIFE SCIENCES

ARTS AND SCIENCES

EDUCATION & SOCIAL SERVICES

DELEGATES ASSEMBLY MEMBERS to serve term which begins July 1, 2017-June 30, 2019

Agriculture & Life Sciences

  • Tao Sun, CDAE

  • [vacant]

Arts and Sciences

  • Erica Andrus, Religion
  • Eric Lindstrom, English
  • Ingrid Nelson, Geography
  • Larry Rudiger, Psychology
  • John Waldron, Romance Languages & Linguistics
  • Nancy Welch, English
  • Alex Zakaras, Political Science

Education & Social Services

  • JB Barna, Social Work

Engineering & Mathematics

  • Karla Karstens, Math and Statistics

ENGINEERING & MATHEMATICS

BUSINESS

EXTENSION

LIBRARIES

NATURAL RESOURCES

NURSING & HEALTH SCIENCES

PART-TIME FACULTY

Business

  • Thomas Chittenden, Business

Extension

  • Mary Peabody, Ext - Programming & Fac Sup

Libraries

  • Peter Spitzform, Libraries 

Natural Resources

  • Zachary Ispa Landa, Rubenstein Sch Env & Nat Res
  • [vacant]

Nursing & Health Sciences

  • Ken Allen, Medical Laboratory & Radiation Science
    Kenneth.Allen@uvm.edu
  • [vacant]                             

Part-time Faculty

Department Representatives

 

ANIMAL SCIENCE

[vacant]

Contact Tao Sun

 

ANTHROPOLOGY

Jeanne Shea
Jeanne.l.shea@gmail.com

 

ART & ART HISTORY

Pamela Fraser

Pamela.Fraser@uvm.edu

                                                                        

ASIAN LANGUAGES & LITERATURES

Kyle Ikeda
(802) 656-1044
Kyle.Ikeda@uvm.edu

 

BIOLOGY

[vacant]

Contact Brian Beckage

 

BUSINESS

David Novak
(802) 656-4043
David.Novak@uvm.edu

 

CHEMISTRY

[vacant]

Contact Brian Beckage

CLASSICS

Brian Walsh

(802) 656-3051

bwalsh@uvm.edu

COMMUNICATION SCIENCES

Dinah Smith
(802) 656-3861
Dinah.Smith@uvm.edu

 

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT & APPLIED ECONOMICS

Richard Watts
656-9755
Richard.Watts@uvm.edu

 

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Alison Pechenick
(802) 656-2547
Alison.Pechenick@uvm.edu

 

ECONOMICS

Richard Sicotte
(802) 656-0184
Richard.Sicotte@uvm.edu

 

EDUCATION

Marthe Russell    Marthe.Russell@uvm.edu                                                        

                   

ENGINEERING

Contact Walter Varhue

 

ENGLISH

Sarah Alexander    Sarah.C.Alexander@uvm.edu

 

EXTENSION

Mary Peabody
(802) 476-2003
mary.peabody@uvm.edu

 

GEOGRAPHY

Ingrid Nelson
(802) 656-2087
Ingrid.Nelson@uvm.edu

 

GEOLOGY

[vacant]

Contact Brian Beckage

GERMAN & RUSSIAN

Kathleen Scollins
(802) 656-1474
Kathleen.Scollins@uvm.edu

 

HISTORY

Sean Stilwell
(802) 656-0828
Sean.Stilwell@uvm.edu

 

LEADERSHIP & DEVELOPMENTAL SCIENCES

Contact Aaron Kindsvatter or Susan Comerford

DANA MEDICAL LIBRARY

Laura Haines
(802) 656-4143
Laura.Haines@uvm.edu

 

BAILEY HOWE LIBRARY

Peter Spitzform
(802) 656-2632
Peter.Spitzform@uvm.edu

 

MATHEMATICS & STATISTICS

[vacant]

Contact Joe Kudrle

 

MED LAB & RADIATION SCIENCE

[vacant]

Vacant. Contact Ken Allen

 

MUSIC & DANCE

David Feurzeig  
(802) 656-1498
David.Feurzeig@uvm.edu

 

NURSING

[vacant]

Contact Lori Vick

NUTRITION & FOOD SCIENCES

[vacant]

Contact Tao Sun.

 

PHILOSOPHY

Tyler Doggett
Tyler.Doggett@uvm.edu

 

PHYSICS

Joanna Rankin
(802) 656-0051
Joanna.Rankin@uvm.edu

 

PLANT BIOLOGY

Brian Beckage
(802) 656-0197
Brian.Beckage@uvm.edu

 

PLANT & SOIL SCIENCE

[vacant]

Contact Tao Sun

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Alex Zakaras
(802) 656-8229
Alex.Zakaras@uvm.edu

 

PSYCHOLOGY

Keith Burt
(802) 656-4285
kbburt@uvm.edu

 

REHABILITATION & MOVEMENT SCIENCE

[vacant]

Contact Lori Vick

 

RELIGION

Erica Andrus
(802) 656-0227                                                                  Erica.Hurwitz@uvm.edu 
 

ROMANCE LANGUAGES

Anis Memon
(802) 656-3513
Anis.Memon@uvm.edu

 

RUBENSTEIN SCHOOL OF ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES

[vacant]

Contact Deane Wang

 

SOCIAL WORK

Jacquelyn (JB) Barna                                                       

(802) 656-8409                                                                          

jb.barna@uvm.edu

 

SOCIOLOGY

[vacant]
 

Contact Tom Streeter

 

THEATRE

Sarah Carleton
(802) 656-0084
Sarah.Carleton@uvm.edu

Committees

Civil Rights Committee

  • Jackie Weinstock, Chair (CESS)

Grievance/Contract Administration Committee   ... CAC webpage ...CAC email

  • Sean Stilwell, Chair (History, CAS)
  • Dan Krymkowski (Sociology, CAS)
  • Deborah Noel (English, CAS)
  • Stephen Finner (Union Consultant)
  • John Forbes (Theatre, CAS)  

Incentive Based Budgeting Ad Hoc Committee

  • Alex Zakaras (Political Science)

Membership Committee

  • Lori Vick, Chair (CNHS)
  • Tao Sun (CDAE)

Nominations & Elections Committee

  • Charles-Louis Morand Metivier, Chair (Romance Languages & Linguistics)
  • Rich Single (Statistics, CEMS)
  • Scott Schaeffer (Libraries)
  • Katherine Merrill (Statistics, CEMS)

Scholarship Awards Committee

  • Prudence Doherty (Libraries), 2014-2017
  • Mary Mendoza, (History), 2016-2019
  • Holly-Lynn Busier (Leadership and Development Sciences, CESS), 2014-2017
  • Vijay Kanagala (Leadership and Development Sciences, CESS), 2014-2017, Chair

State/Higher Education Issues Committee

  • Walter Varhue (Electrical Engineering, CEMS)
  • Thomas Chittenden (Business Administration, BSAD)